San Antonio traffic attorney
San Antonio traffic attorney Talamantez & Volkman is available at 210-349-6000. If you have been issued a traffic citation, we highly recommend that you don’t simply plead guilty or “no contest.” There are numerous negative consequences of traffic violations. Many motorists have mistakenly considered citations to be of little importance. A conviction can result in higher insurance premiums, suspension of your driver’s license, and even possible jail time. Our goals at Talamantez & Volkman are to help reduce costs associated with your citation, keep your driving record from having points assigned to it, and fight your ticket in court. Legal assistance from your San Antonio traffic attorney may also be needed to defend you against driver’s license suspension or to help you obtain an occupational driver’s license.
Texas fines, penalties, and surcharges
Unless special arrangements are made to have traffic charges dismissed, all Texas traffic convictions result in paying fines and penalties. Hiring San Antonio traffic attorney Talamantez & Volkman is your best opportunity to have the most desirable outcome. Some convictions result in surcharges being assessed, as well. The Texas Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) assesses surcharges. The total amount of surcharges as well as the number of years in which they must be paid are determined by convictions and the point system. The following are details about the point system associated with traffic violations in Texas:
- 2 points are assigned if you have a traffic conviction in Texas or any other state.
- 3 points are assigned if you have a traffic conviction that involves a crash in Texas or any other state.
With 2 points on your driving record, you could face higher insurance costs. The best thing to do is contact a San Antonio traffic attorney from the beginning, since points can add up. If you end up with 6 or more points on your driving record, the possible consequences are of a much harsher nature. With 6 or more points, it is mandatory that you pay an annual surcharge until such time as you have fewer than 6 points on your driving record. The basic surcharge penalties are:
- $100 for the first 6 points
- $25 for each additional point over 6
Conviction-based surcharges in Texas
Surcharges can also be conviction-based, which your San Antonio traffic attorney, Talamantez & Volkman, can explain to you in full. Basically, certain traffic convictions automatically result in assessed surcharges, no matter how many points are on your driving record. These types of surcharges must be paid for a total of three years from date of conviction. In addition, these surcharges are much more expensive than those based on driving record points. The following are among the conviction-based surcharges in Texas:
- An annual surcharge of $1,000 goes along with a first conviction for driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI).
- An annual surcharge of $1,500 is included as a result of two or more driving while intoxicated (DWI) convictions.
- If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .16 or greater in a DWI conviction, you will be required to pay a $2,000 annual surcharge. It is highly recommended that you hire San Antonio traffic attorney Talamantez & Volkman. With experienced legal representation, you may be able to avoid conviction and harsh penalties.
- The automatic annual surcharge for driving with no liability insurance coverage is $250.
- The annual surcharge that automatically kicks in with a conviction on the charge of driving without a valid driver’s license is $250.
- There is an automatic surcharge of $100 for a conviction of driving without a driver’s license.
The fees, penalties, and surcharges associated with traffic convictions can be extremely burdensome. Contact Talamantez & Volkman, San Antonio traffic attorney, at 210-349-6000 for help and advice when dealing with a traffic citation in Bexar County and the surrounding area.